Bill 64 - The Education Modernization Act, is the enabling legislation that will be used to achieve some of the government recommendations included in the K-12 Education Review. Once it receives royal assent, Bill 64 will replace The Public Schools Act, The Education Administration Act and The Community Schools Act, the pieces of legislation currently governing education in Manitoba.
Bill 64 proposes the elimination of democratically elected school boards, the creation of a provincial education authority, school division amalgamations reducing the 37 divisions to 15 “regional catchment areas” plus DSFM, and limiting principals and vice-principals from being in the same bargaining unit as teachers.
When Does Bill 64 come into effect?
Some parts of Bill 64 come into force when it receives royal assent. Others come into force on proclamation before The Public Schools Act is repealed and replaced by the new Education Act.
July 1, 2022 is the date set for the Provincial Education Authority to take over. Bill 64 must become law first. The provincial government is planning to appoint a transition team to implement the changes.
It is important to note that there are specific timelines and dates associated with the implementation of some of the items proposed in Bill 64, meaning that proclamation and royal assent will not result in an immediate change in the education system.
New Regions
Fifteen new regions, plus DSFM, will replace 37 separate school divisions. Once the new governance model has been implemented, the new regions will be as follows:
1. Winnipeg, St. James-Assiniboia, Louis Riel, Pembina Trails, Seven Oaks and River East Transcona
2. Garden Valley, Western
3. Frontier, Kelsey, Flin Flon and Mystery Lake
4. Evergreen, Lakeshore
5. Beautiful Plains, Park West, Rolling River
6. Interlake, Lord Selkirk
7. Mountain View, Swan Valley, Turtle River
8. Hanover
9. Fort La Bosse, Southwest Horizon, Turtle Mountain
10. Sunrise, Whiteshell
11. Brandon
12. Seine River
13. Portage La Prairie, Pine Creek
14. Border Land, Red River Valley
15. Prairie Spirit, Prairie Rose
School Community Council
Existing Parent Advisory Councils will be eliminated.
Parents and guardians of each school community will elect an executive (the School Community Council) to work with the principal on matters impacting the school community. The councils’ specific roles have not been finalized but could include assessing the effectiveness of programming at the school, analyzing student achievement and learning outcomes and proposing capital construction projects and budgets. These councils will replace traditional parent councils.
Provincial Advisory Council
The provincial advisory council on education will be comprised of 15 parents elected from among the members of the executives of the School Community Councils in each regional catchment, and one representative trustee from Francophone school board. This advisory council will provide the minister of education with direct parental advice on matters relating to the education system, including, but not limited to: staff hiring and performance evaluations, recommendations regarding priorities and policies on discipline management and analysis of student achievement.
Provincial Education Authority
The new Provincial Education Authority is made up of government appointees, of which two must also be serving on the Provincial Advisory Council on Education.
The Provincial Education Authority Board will report to the Minister.
Decisions about education will now be done on "Broadway" in Winnipeg rather than via your local school division's board.
Links and Resources 
Here are links to resources available from a number of other authorities: